Salish Sea

The Salish Sea is the unified bi-national ecosystem that includes Washington State’s Puget Sound, the Strait of Juan de Fuca and the San Juan Islands as well as British Columbia’s Gulf Islands and the Strait of Georgia. The name recognizes and pays tribute to the first inhabitants of the region, the Coast Salish.

Interesting facts about the Salish Sea:

- Coastline length, including islands: 7,470 km

- Total number of islands: 419

- Total land area of islands: 3,660 square kilometers

- Sea surface area: 16,925 square kilometers

- Maximum depth: 650 meters

- Number of different marine animals species estimated: 20 species of mammals, 128 species of birds, 219 species of fish, and over 3000 species of invertebrates (Brown and Gaydos, 2007)

- Number of species listed as threatened, endangered or are candidates for listing: 64 (Brown and Gaydos, 2007)